Tuesday, December 8, 2009

Wow - New discoveries everyday if only you would pay attention.

That really is the truth you know. You could really learn something - about yourself or anything for that matter if only you would take a minute and pay attention.

What I've learned...
Well first let me start off by saying that Saturday and Sunday, really have been "cheat days".
I mean so bad that I won't even tell you exactly what I ate but will give you a general idea (and let me tell you, I was BAD LOL)

Saturday went to the Tx Nebraska game and there I had nachos and bbq sandwich and loads of Dr. Pepper (I don't even remember what I had for breakfast that day (maybe a bowl of Frosted Flakes) -- Then on Sunday for breakfast: tamales, rice, beans, roast, mom-in-law tortillas, popcorn, m&ms and a pickle.

I think that the main thing that you start to see when you are making a food journal is all of the ridiculous choices you make along the way. The sad thing is that while you are making those choices you have the opportunity to tell yourself to stop ... but then what happens? You don't. Or at least I don't :)

BUT - I went for a jog at 7:30AM on Saturday. That should and does count for something!

Monday - 12/7
Breakfast oatmeal
Lunch - Chuys - Shirley's Goo (Cheese, chicken and mexican rice) & like 4 tortillas and water :)
Dinner - Grandy's Chicken Fried Steak and mashed potatoes with sweet tea and a roll. I chuckle as I type this because I made all of those food choices. :(
Snack - strawberries, triscuits with cheese, grapes, blueberries and water.

Okay - today 12/8. I worked from home. I ate:
Breakfast - oatmeal with blueberries (a friend gave me the idea to sweeten the oatmeal with fruit and it was good)
Lunch - tamale, rice, beans
Snack - 2 oreos
Afternoon Snacks triscuits with cheese, strawberries, blueberries, grapes, water
Popcorn with hershey's with almonds and a pickle and water
Dinner - Nachos (Cheese and ground beef) and Dr. Pepper at the in-laws

BUT THEN GUESS WHAT ELSE I DID?

I grilled some chicken to take for lunch tomorrow and I have actually packed my lunch! First time in MONTHS!

Here it goes - The plan for tomorrow:
Breakfast - Blueberries with oatmeal
Snack - Strawberries - Green Tea or Chamomille Tea
Lunch - Grilled chicken with brown rice - Water
Afternoon Snack - Triscuits with Cheese - Water
Snack on Way home - Grapes
Dinner - hopefully something healthy (I have chicken left over that I grilled so it may be that or tiliapia?

I will try to keep you updated.

Okay back to the post at hand. Earlier I said that you learn something about yourself when you really pay attention. Here is what I am learning....
That it takes baby steps...I have started watching workout videos on youtube again - trying to get some ideas to get back in the gym. I bought a new yoga mat because between you and I ...I am seriously considering going back to Boot Camp :) And, I am starting to take notice when there are shows about getting healthy, i.e. Best Celeb bods and Biggest Loser. Funny, I know but hey baby steps right?

Lastly, I have a theory. I mean we all know that when you don't take care of yourself you gain weight. But have you actually thought about the process by which your body grows. I have a theory and will share it today. hahahaah

You know that point during your meal where you feel full but yet most of the time you are still looking at a plate of food? You look down at you plate, you are so full that instead of pushing the plate away, you decide to take a big deep breath in and go at it again? Okay..stop the visual. Because here... HERE is the place that I think it happens. I think that when we take that big deep breath our body transforms. So, I promise to think twice the next time it happens to me and hope you do the same. Use the excel to just push the plate away. Throw the towel in ... LITERALLY!

On an even lighter note....I found a new thing to add to my Christmas list. Well make that 2 things. A key pendant from Tiffany & Co and a watch from La Mer Collections! :D

Okay...I need to study and will try...geez I will be glad when my finals are over!!

Nite Blog Community!

Friday, December 4, 2009

A long overdue post about things I'm loving lately and other random stuff!

Okay...so here are some things that I have been loving lately. I mean really loving. So I hope you find this post useful!!

1. Liz Earle Skincare. I experienced some issues with my skin a while back and because I am a sucker for products I was being picky on what I would use next. After several months of research I opted for Liz Earle skincare which I had shipped in from London and lemme tell you I love it! http://uk.lizearle.com/

2. I also purchased Bioderma crealine makeup remover and despite the $35 price tag, I think I like it. :) I got mine from amazon http://www.amazon.com/Crealine-Ultra-Mild-Non-Rinse-Cleanser-Bioderma/dp/B000EGIQB0

3. Last skincare related "like" is the Embryolisse concentrated 24 hour miracle cream moisturizer from France. I LOVE THAT STUFF TOO. Got mine from amazon http://www.amazon.com/Embryolisse-Concentrated-Hour-Miracle-Cream/dp/B000O7NKSS

So, if you were considering a change in your skincare regimen, I think the above items were worth the price, & the shipping and handling.

I have also been loving the Stila Eye Kajal in Onyx. I actually have eyes that I think droop a little bit on the outer corners and so I like to give them a little lift. It is amazing the difference this stuff makes. The neat way that I accomplish the outer corner lift/cat eye is by using the MAC 212 brush. I basically swipe the brush across the eye liner (since it is uber creamy) and then lay it flat along my lower lid angled towards my outer brow. This just places a slight line that I use as a guide. You can also consider it the bottom part of the cat eye effect. I then take the brush and lay it flat across the top lash line connecting the outer tip of the original line. Then smudge. If you are curious as to how to do this send me a message and I will make you a video :)


eyeliner: http://www.stilacosmetics.com/product_detail.asp?PMID=120&category_id=&pos=1&viewall=
Mac brush: http://www.maccosmetics.com/product/spp.tmpl?CATEGORY_ID=CAT145&PRODUCT_ID=814


I got these amazing boots from Nordstrom they are called the Rumala Boots from Guess in the color mushroom.

http://shop.nordstrom.com/S/3036366?Category=&Search=True&SearchType=keywordsearch&keyword=guess+rumala&origin=searchresults

Checking with the live chat person on nordstrom's site because I bought mine 2 weeks ago and had to have them shipped because they were not in the store. And now they are 30% off argh.

So, I want some leapard print tights to wear with a short black skirt and my scrunchy black suede boots. You can picture it now can't ya :)

Okay.I'm sleepy tired. You know that kinda tired that makes you want to just sleep? That kind ;)

night zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

And it's Fantastic Friday

So today is Friday 12/4 and I didn't blog about my food intake yesterday so this will be a two parter.

I am taking a break from studying for my finals in Data Communications and Software Project Management. Yep I decided to go back to school this year. Why? Because I am a little on the silly side I think. :) 2 degrees just weren't enough and well quite frankly while I admire doctors I don't think that I would like to be called Dr. Bazan. So, let's just say it's Master Bazan to you! hahahahah I made a funny. Or I'm just delirious :D - well that and I am afraid to ever be overqualified on paper. I think it's one thing to go in to a place and run the joint like what? Yep that's me...but too much "qualification" can prevent you from actually being able to get in "into the place" if you know what I mean. LOL

So, on to the food choices I have made.

yesterday, 12/3

breakfast: green tea with splenda
lunch: 1/2 hot chicken panini & cup of baked potato soup from panera with potato chips (random alert: I don't know what my fascination with potato chips has been lately I think it's just the sodium which ultimately leads to bloating which defeats the purpose altogether ay ay yay)
snack: one apple with water before class
dinner: one bowl of frosted flakes

today 12/4
breakfast: none
lunch: luna de noche's cup of chicken tortilla soup and 2 quesadillas - 2 glasses of tea (or 3 the conversation was too good and I didn't keep count) and lots and lots of chips and salsa
dinner: 6 buffalo chicken wings and some dr. pepper
and I want a snack but maybe I'm just thirsty.

My lips are chapped, as winter is now here. Speaking of winter I love all the boots I will be wearing this fall! BOOTS ARE HOT THIS FALL!

Tomorrow is an exciting day because we are going to the Big 12 Championship game.

It's also exciting because while I thought I had to take one of my exams tomorrow, I actually have until next weekend which is really nice and knowing my procrastinating self, I will be going crazy about this time next week :D.

What else what else.

Well I have been thinking about 2009. In the sense that so many things happened that it would be neat to put a picture montage together complete with music. Think I will find some time to work on that.

hmmm... oh I ordered some return address labels from this neat site called vistaprint.com

I actually created a label with our faces on it. They look neat hopefully they are just as neat when they come in. :)

Wednesday, December 2, 2009

My Mission - First Day. How did I do?

Okay so today is 12/2...And I failed miserably! Ha.

No exercise.

What I ate:

Breakfast - 2 bites of my oatmeal (I forgot I had an off site meeting and I had to leave it at the office).

Lunch - Southwestern Wrap on wheat tortilla, Lays Potato Chips, Green tea unsweetened.

Snack - 2 Oreos - 6 Triscuits with cheese

Dinner - One slice of frozen pizza cooked at home. Water

I guess since I am blogging now, I shouldn't eat again tonight LOL. :D

Okay..watching the Grammy nomination show and I need to study! Class tomorrow and Final Exam on Saturday.

Tuesday, December 1, 2009

It's time to shine! - My moment of truth.

I was going to give you a disclaimer but then I realized this is my blog. My outlet. I am complicated, I am complex, and all of that because I am me. Oh and I think I am the only one that reads my blog anyway:)

So, I am not sure what I have been waiting on. I mean, I can give you a million excuses as to why I haven't started or what I think is keeping me from doing it but then again, acknowledging it would then mean that I would have to change it. Or at least, make an attempt to change it. I am a confident person, or at least I try to be. But another characteristic of mine is always trying to improve. Improve via education, improve via helping people, improve via experiences and yes improve via that little thing called exercise and healthy eating. I sometimes allow myself to be critical of my body but only because I know that I am capaple of being better. Of looking/feeling better. I try to experiment with different types of exercise because afterall...I get bored easily :). I have tried aerobics, belly dance, salsa, hip hop, yoga, boot camp, running/exercising on my own and am currently enrolled in ballet and jazz. The one thing that is the most difficult for me though is the healthy eating. I would be lying if I said that I haven't thought about trying Quick Trim or some other types of diet pills but then I remember what some of the most fit people have told me. "Maria, if it were that easy and if there was a magic diet pill, everyone would be thin". And I truly, truly believe that.

I have learned many things through my many journeys towards looking "HOT"! , all of which should help me "improve" my appearance. Now, I don't mean to sound ungrateful because the Lord knows that I am thankful for every part of me. Even my "target areas" :D. I sometimes look at myself and wonder what things I would change if I had the opportunity. And it is then that I remember that I do have the opportunity. The things that I would improve are all things that I have complete control over. I can improve them by making better choices in my daily life and by "making" time to exercise. Truth be told, I haven't made time to exercise like I use to. In fact the last time I really exercised was August 18, 2009.

Then I allowed myself to get stressed. I started making excuses and I lost sight of my goal. To be honest, I haven't felt like "myself" since then. I mean, yes I am still the positive person that I was when I was exercising but I remember very clearly thinking to myself that back then I had to make time for the gym. That I had to make a conscious decision and an effort to make good choices to change my habits. Change those habits that were resulting in me not being everything that I could be.

So tonight, I make a conscious decision to change that. The attitude, the habits, eliminate the excuses and to not lose sight of my goal.

I gain inspiration through many things. Sometimes it's seeing beautiful people that appear to also be healthy. (Insert Victoria Secret Fashion Show clip here). Sometimes, it is reading an influential quote or simply remembering that I have all of the necessary tools to be and do anything that I want to do.

Dr. Phil has said "You can't change what you don't acknowledge". So here and now I choose to lay it all out. I will list all of the excuses that I make for myself and then I will list all of the good advice that I have heard about how to go about reaching my goals. Then, I will make a decision and with that a promise/goal. I will use this blog post as my journal of sorts. I will write in it daily and will use it to track my food intake. I will list in it what I ate and what decisions I made regarding exercise. And then I will take the lists that I make tonight and will allow myself the freedom to add to them if later I find that I am making more excuses for myself.

I do not view the desire to improve oneself as a weakness. The only weakness I see in that is when you give up on improving yourself. Even though I may recieve criticism from others that don't understand me, I will continue on my journey.

This is the moment of truth. I will not fail.

And then there were the lists.

My habits
Eat whatever I want when I want it.
I don't eat breakfast daily.
My decisions for lunch are influenced by others.
I will choose to have lunch with others over having a healthy lunch.
I do not like to "purchase" sandwiches when I know that I could have made them at home.
I do not deprive myself.
I change my plans for others because I prefer the company. (Gym time can easily turn into lunch time with friends)


My excuses
It's too cold outside. (Even though I would work out inside)
I am too busy.
I am too tired.
Need to spend that time with my family.
I didn't prepare my workout clothes the night before.
I didn't prepare my lunch/snacks for the day.
The ever famous "I will start tomorrow".
I need a goal to work towards (a party, a reunion a wedding, something)
The weather is yucky. (It dampens my mood)

The benefits
Looking/feeling great.
Stress reduction.
Time with friends/family while working out.
Better night's rest.
Additional confidence.
No guilt.
Love the way my body feels.
Mental well-being.

The plan
Okay, right about now I just want you to know that I am already beginning to doubt myself. Wow....seriously! I mean it is 11:28PM and I am thinking...it would be great if I could get up and pack my clothes and go to the gym tomorrow. (Pack my lunch too, but clothes would be a start) I am slowly talking my way out of it. But I won't. Today is a new day. It's 12/1 and in addition, I will post this blog which means someone out there will hold me to it. Let it be you!! :D

[Complicated Maria returns.]
Back to the plan.

So, I will try and take baby steps because afterall, that is what will help get me there.

  1. I will try and have breakfast tomorrow morning and pack some snacks/lunch.
  2. I will pack my clothes to go to the gym during lunch. I will reschedule lunch with my friend.
  3. I will write down everything that I eat.
  4. I will add a blog entry for 12/2.
  5. Replace my beverages with water.
Some tips I learned along the way.
  • If you drink it, ink it. If you bite it, write it.
  • Small portions - use a small plate if you have to.
  • 5 small meals. breakfast lunch and dinner and two snacks
  • Your metabolism is like a fire. If you give it too much (food) at once you will put it out. If you don't give it anything (food) it will burn out. You need to give it little by little (food) continuously.
  • Make your plans and stick to them. Obstacles are things you see when you take your eyes off of your goal.
  • Make wiser food choices despite the temptation.
  • When faced with an unhealthy food choice, remember how you feel afterwards.
  • See yourself how you want to be, then achieve it.

My goal

Take a before picture on 12/2. Take measurements of my abdomen, thighs, shoulders, hips, calves, biceps. See myself for what I am and be thankful for who/what I am. Accept all of my flaws and realize that there is only one of me. :D

Work on my self improvement plan and analyze my results on a montly basis.

12/1 - Meal/Drink Choices

Morning tea - 1 cup Green Tea no sweetener

2 chocolate "poker chips" haha found them in the breakroom! ay ay ay! I tell ya!

Lunch: Chipotle. 1/2 a chicken burrito (didn't eat the tortilla) - ingredients: rice, black beans, chicken, hot sauce, cheese, lettuce. (My fave!) chips and medium salsa. Dr. Pepper

Dinner: 2 flour tortillas, seasoned ground beef, potatoes and refried beans. Dr. Pepper

Drank Water just before bed.

Exercise: None (Does watching Biggest Loser / Victoria Secret Angel Boot Camp count haha)

So there. I have shared my insecurities...all for the sake of self-improvement. Failure is not an option. --> But can most definitely be the result of decisions not made and opportunities wasted.

Wednesday, August 12, 2009

Louis Vuitton's TV Ad

Amazing...

What is a journey? A journey is not a trip. It's not a vacation. It's a process. A discovery. It's a process of self-discovery. A journey brings us face to face with ourselves. A journey shows us not only the world, but how we fit in it. Does the person create the journey or does the journey create the person? The journey is life itself. Where will life take you? - Louis Vuitton TV Ad

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fG79nd8ej94&feature=PlayList&p=CEFFAA85B96C61B2&playnext=1&playnext_from=PL&index=1

Maria <3s it!

Okay...so here is the part where I talk about some of the things I am loving lately.

First there are these little things called Colgate Whisps: http://www.colgatewisp.com/wisp/HomePage#wtf

They are tiny toothbrushes that while thy are individually packaged, they come 4 to a pack. does that make sense? If not check out the link above. I bought them during a grocery store run last week and tried one out on Saturday. It is a mini super easy toothbrush and I am a fan!!

Last night I couldn't sleep...and I googled lullaby...lol and I found Yiruma's "River flows into you" and you guessed it... I am a fan. Here is a link to him playing it.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rhN7SG-H-3k


Lastly, I am a fan of a few videos I found on Louis Vuitton's Channel...I likey!! :-)
http://www.youtube.com/user/LouisVuittonJourneys
It is a classic mixture of art and class! LOVE LOVE LOVE LV!